fbpx

The Ultimate Florida CNA License Renewal Guide: 4 Easy Steps to Renewing Your FL CNA License!

Florida CNA License Renewal

Time flies when you are busy caring for lives! And though it may not seem like it, it is time to renew your CNA license. The Florida CNA license renewal process can be confusing. If this is your first time renewing your CNA license, stay here, and let us guide you. If you have been at this a couple of times but need a refresher, we have got your back!

Step 1. You Must Meet the Florida CNA License Renewal Requirements

In the state of Florida, you are required to renew your CNA license every 24 months. You must take 24 hours of continuing education training. In addition, CNA’s must have worked for compensation within the last 24 consecutive months to remain on the registry. You must complete the above-listed things to meet the Florida CNA license renewal requirements.

Licensees who fail to meet these Florida CNA license renewal requirements must reapply for licensure and comply with current laws and rules. Licensees who have become Null and Void or elected to Voluntarily Relinquish their CNA license must reapply for licensure and meet current requirements.

Step 2. Complete the CEUs Required for Florida CNA License Renewal

Continuing education training hours shall include, but are not limited to, the following areas to meet the Florida CNA license renewal requirements:
• Bloodborne Pathogens, Infection Control
• Domestic Violence
• Medical Record Documentation and Legal Aspects Appropriate to Nursing Assistants
• Resident Rights
• Communication with cognitively impaired clients
• CPR skills
• Medical Error Prevention and Safety

To find continuing education providers you should search on the CE Broker’s website.

Click Here to take a CPR Class.

Florida CNA License Renewal

The CE Broker is free and does require you to create an account. They will try to upsell you when just registering but just stick to the free basic package.

Florida CNA License Renewal

Usually, there are CEU providers with bundles that contain all the courses needed to meet the 24-hour CEU requirements for your Florida CNA license renewal. Most CNA continuing education bundles cost around $20-$30. These courses can be completed online and are usually self-paced. Therefore, you can complete your course on your computer or phone, anytime, anywhere!

Florida CNA License Renewal

Once you complete the courses, the CEU provider will automatically report your CEU hours to the Florida Health Department. This will help ease the process of meeting the Florida CNA license renewal requirements.

However, if you took any CNA related continuing education credits with a provider that is not approved through the CE Broker, you would have to report your CEU training hours, manually when you renew your CNA license.

If your employer provides CEUs it is very important that you maintain records of the CEUs and ensure they are being reported. Ultimately, your employer is not responsible for reporting or providing your CEUs, you as the CNA are responsible.

It is recommended that you maintain your CEU records for at least 4 years, in case of an audit.

To find board approved Florida CNA CEU courses, please click here.

Step 3. Renew Your CNA License & Pay Fees

You may renew your CNA license online if you have a credit or debit card to complete the transaction. Also, you have the option to print a copy of your application summary and mail it with your cashier’s check or money order to The Florida Department of Health’s Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Currently, the fee to renew your unexpired Florida CNA license is $55. If your CNA license is expired the fee is $105. If renewing 120 days Notified Delinquent, your fees will be $160. All prices are subject to change.

Pursuant to s. 456.065(3), Florida Statutes, a $5 fee to fund efforts to combat unlicensed activity will be assessed of each licensee upon initial licensure and at each renewal. This fee has been included in the total renewal fee and initial application fee since the law was enacted in 1992.

Renewal Instructions

a. Go to www.flhealthsource.gov and click the “Renew A License” button.

Florida CNA License Renewal

b. Under, licensed practitioner login, enter the information that is requested, then click the login button.

Florida CNA License Renewal

c. Confirm or update your MQA Services Account email address, then click the “Continue” button.


d. You are now on the Dashboard. During renewals, a “Renew My License” option will populate no later than 90 days prior to your license expiration date. (Note: If you do not see the “Renew My License” option, please check back at a later time.)

Florida CNA License Renewal
  • If you are renewing your license after the expiration date and your status still indicates Clear/Active, you will be assessed a delinquency fee. The delinquency fee will be in addition to your renewal fees.
  • If your license was Delinquent/Active before the renewal deadline, it will be moved to Null and Void status after the renewal deadline. You should contact your board office for further instruction

Options for Non-Renewal of Your CNA License:

  1. Delinquent & Null/Void – Take no action. The license will go delinquent after the expiration date and Null/Void 2 years after the expiration date. Once Null/Void, the license cannot be reactivated.
  2. Voluntarily Relinquish – Submit a formal request in writing to the Board for relinquishment of the license, the license number is discontinued and cannot be reactivated.

Step 4. Receive Your New CNA License!

Congrats! You survived the Florida CNA license renewal process, your new CNA license is on the way. The process of renewing a CNA license and receiving a printed CNA license in the mail may take 7-10 business days. Initiating contact to confirm the receipt of fees or the status of your license prior to this time will not expedite the renewal process.

Conclusion

Renewing your CNA license is an easy process that can be completed online. To meet the Florida CNA license renewal requirements, simply complete the required 24 hours of continuing education training and pay the appropriate fees to renew your CNA license. Make it easy on yourself and take your CEUs with an approved CEU provider, since they are required to report your CEUs to the Florida Department of Health. Expect your CNA license within 7- 10 business days.

How many years have you been a CNA and how many times have you had to renew your CNA license?

FAQs

  1. How long before my CNA license expires?

    Florida CNA licenses expire every two years. Check your Florida CNA license to view the expiration date. If you do not have the CNA license to verify, check on the Florida Nurse Registry.

  2. How do I renew my Florida CNA license?

    To renew your Florida CNA license, you must visit the Florida Department of Health’s website to access the application. You may either renew online or mail in the appropriate documentation and fees.

  3. What happens if you let your CNA license expire?

    If your Florida CNA license expires, you are considered delinquent. Until the CNA license is renewed, you cannot work as a CNA. To renew your expired CNA license, you must meet the work and CEU training requirements, pay the original renewal fee, and pay a delinquency fee. After two years, your CNA license will become null and void and you will have to take the CNA test again to be certified in Florida.

  4. What CEUs are required for a Florida CNA?

    All CNAs must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education training every 2 years. CEU training hours shall include, but are not limited to, the following areas:
    • Bloodborne Pathogens, Infection Control
    • Domestic Violence
    • Medical Record Documentation and Legal Aspects Appropriate to Nursing Assistants
    • Resident Rights
    • Communication with cognitively impaired clients
    • CPR skills
    • Medical Error Prevention and Safety

  5. How much does it cost to renew a CNA license in Florida?

    Currently, the fee to renew your unexpired Florida CNA license is $55. If your CNA license is expired the fee is $105. If renewing 120 day Notified Delinquent, your fees will be $160. All prices are subject to change.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

JOIN THE CLUB!

It’s easy: all we need is your email & your eternal love. But we’ll settle for your email.